Tamsin Kendrick: Peter Pan Versus Captain Hook


Peter Pan Versus Captain Hook

My friend vouched a theory that all men were either
Peter Pans or Captain Hooks. I don’t know about you but

I know where I stand. Look what that bastard did to poor Wendy;
Tinkerbell too. I’ll have no truck with flighty boys.

Give me instead the feel of steel on my thigh,
the screams of pirates trapped in the boo-boo box.

But most of all give me the whispery hair under the wig,
the gnarled hand, the hook trailing red lines down my abdomen.

He pulls my hair, holds his hook to my mouth, then, suddenly shy,
his mouth. No thimbles in sight. Finally, a real kiss.

~Tamsin Kendrick

This entry was posted in Howard Pyle, pirates, poetry, Tamsin Kendrick. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

